IDE for Genode Development

Back to the topic that started it all… :wink:

My original intention in the question on the ML was about an IDE for Genode development, not necessarily running on Genode itself. But that is a very interesting topic as well, since native Genode development is the ultimate goal, of course!

For me, multi-language support (e.g., Ada, Rust, etc.) is an important feature. The leading contenders for this seem to be VSCodium and Eclipse, but please let me know of any other options. And obviously we need to be able to use the custom Genode toolchain.

Personally, I have a profound (multi-decade) distrust of Microsoft, so I would prefer something with a purer FLOSS pedigree, but my day job is in MS Visual Studio, so I’m sure I can get along in VSCodium, which seems to have a lot of plugin/extension support. Eclipse also has great extensibility (and a long history), but seemed cumbersome last time I used it. But that could be an out-of-date opinion.

If anyone has any thoughts on this topic, please share them! (Favorite IDE(s), setup hints, porting ideas/issues, etc.)

I’m on the minimalist end of the spectrum as I do all my Genode work with 2+ terminals with 3 tabs each (one terminal per directory, but 3 different repetitive tasks to be done in each, plus a terminal occasionally spawned for grepping and other tasks)… and either Pe or Koder as the editor. Both have syntax highlighting/coloring for dozens of language (didn’t check Ada and Rust though), but that’s it for “support” : no automatic completion and such.

Depending on what extensions you need, it might or might not be worth checking out Be-API editors (Paladin etc) and Qt-API ones (qCreator ?). There were also suggestions made on the mailing-list with seemingly innovative and FLOSS candidates.